Gallery

Highlights

No, not the children’s magazine (although, I have good memories from reading that as a kid), these highlights are from the past two weeks. I’ve been a busy girl and I’m just now sitting down, logging on, and writing it all down…

Stephen’s first…

Ok, I know this is kinda gross, but as a runner writing to fellow runners, I know we all experience gross things from time to time. I’ve had so many blisters, chaffing episodes, scrapes and bruises, but nothing rivals the experience men go through when they get a bloody nipple. In Stephen’s case, this happened on a recent 13 miler…needless to say, we will ALWAYS have body glide in the house.

P7290045 Not a happy runner that day

Camping!

Truth be told, I’m not much of a camper. Don’t get me wrong, I love the outdoors, campfires, sleeping under the stars, and sharing quality time with friends and family, but I tap-out after a while. I love my bed, a shower, my hair dryer and all other useful amenities we take for granted. But, in the spirit of summer and my brother’s birthday, I sucked it up and braved the dirt…for about 24 hours. And let me tell you, camping for 24 hours is almost insane because the amount of time, money and energy it takes to camp. It only took us about an hour to get to Del Valle Lake in Lodi, CA, but MAN it took a lot to get us there. Between our stuff, Bentley’s stuff, groceries, and basic necessities, we had enough to last us about 5 days. Fortunately, we were only there for a day and we had a really great time (Bentley had the most fun out of everyone though I think). Happy birthday to my brother!

P7300052Bentley loved the dirt

P7300061Camping food!

P7300086We had a packed Jeep!

New favorite recipe. EVER.

I’ve always been a fan of Greek yogurt – I began eating Fage yogurt about two years ago, then recently switched to the Trader Joe’s brand. It’s much less expensive, but tastes the same and has the same nutritional value. The other day I was skimming through Women’s Running magazine (yes, I’m getting more mag reading time!) and I found a recipe I had to try that day. Here it is:

  • ½ to ¾ cup each of strawberries, sliced bananas, blackberries and blueberries (I use whatever fruit I have on hand, but almost always use strawberries and blueberries)
  • ½ cup of fat-free or low-fat Greek Yogurt
  • 1 Tbsp. cinnamon
  • 1 tsp. Splenda or 1 Tbsp. Honey (I use honey…liberally)
  • ½ cup of a high-fiber, low-sugar cereal such as Kashi Go Lean or Fiber One (I use   Kashi Go Lean because I always have it on hand)
  • ¼ cup unsweetened coconut, shredded (I have never used this, but sounds good)
  • ¼ cup chopped walnuts or sliced almonds

I have made a variation of this almost every day. Stephen loves it too and I make it for us pretty frequently. The other day I found him making the cinnamon-honey version of the yogurt, it’s that good.

P7280043

My Garmin has returned!

After weeks of being sans Garmin, I finally got a new one in the mail!! The receiver went out in mine, so I called Garmin and they replaced it for me! Unfortunately, I’d had it for over a year, so I had to pay an $80 fee, but that’s much better than having to buy a new one. *Note to Garmin owners – if you have a watch that’s going out, call Garmin, they are amazing. They will most likely help you with whatever your issues are and if they can’t help you, they’ll get you a new one. If you’ve had yours for less than a year, they replace it for FREE. Thumbs up.

ROHO dinner

Aron recently posted a great recap on our ROHO dinner and run. It was so great to be with the girls again and enjoy some food, drinks and good convo. We have all been so insanely busy so it was a great opportunity to catch up with everyone.

15 Miler with the ladies…and Stephen

Poor Stephen…I constantly drag him to things where it’s mostly girls, and he is so great about it. Last Sunday was no exception. We showed up to run in Danville and we met up with Page, Tara, Aron, Layla, Audrey, Sandra and Maritza. We busted out 15 miles, most of which I ran with Aron, and the last five I ran with Stephen. It was a good run, a little hot at the end, but I came in with a last mile average of 8:05, woo whoo!

And last but not least…I passed my NASM Certified Personal Trainer Exam!!!!!!!

On Friday, August 6, all the hard work, studying and cramming finally paid off and I passed the NASM CPT exam. I was so pumped!! It was HARD and if anyone out there is studying for it, I wish you the best! It’s challenging, but worth it. The entire time I was studying I was talking with the Fitness Manager of a local 24 Hour Fitness, he offered me a job at his gym and I filled out all the paperwork on Monday! In a few days I will officially be employed with 24 Hour Fitness as a personal trainer. I cannot wait to blog about it and share my tips, stories and learning moments with all of you.

A special thanks to all my friends and family who have been so supportive.  I love all of you and I couldn’t have done it without you. And yes, I will train each and every one of you at some point.

9 responses to “Highlights

  1. so exciting about your exam!!! i really need to look into that…. i applied for that job but havent heard anything yet! keep your fingers crossed for me! cant wait to see you in october!

  2. lots of great stuff going on these days 🙂 glad i have been able to see you a ton in the middle of it all!

  3. CONGRATULATIONS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    That is so exciting and good luck with your new gig!

  4. SO much great stuff! So happy for you and excited for your new personal training adventures! ♥

  5. Wow, talk about highlights! LOL, funny you mentioned the kids magazine… I was thinking hair! haha. First of all, congrats on passing your personal trainer exam! That’s HUGE!!! You are so awesome!!!! And poor Stephen! Duane tapes his to prevent the chaffing… there!

  6. Congratulation!!! I am studying for the ACE PT test right now…there is so much info!! I also just got back from camping…looks like you guys had fun and Bentley is adorable. I love labs and just got a corgi lab mix puppy a few months ago…

  7. Congratulations on ALL of your achievements recently – including camping!

  8. Yay! I’m so proud of you and can’t wait to hear how it’s all going! Email me soon and give me an update!

    I love that you shared that bloody nip pic…..not a happy runner AT ALL. LOL!

  9. So, I am a few months late but just wanted to say “CONGRATS” on passing your exam – I hope you are enjoying your new career.

Leave a Reply

