Gallery

Some Running, a Little Relay Planning and a Trip to Tahoe

Running has been so great!  Last week I did two runs with Aron, Thursday I did 7.5 with her and Friday I limped through about 5.5.  And by limp, I seriously mean LIMPED through it.  I thought I was going to die!  I don’t know if I was just so tired from the run before, because it was Friday, or because it was early, whatever it was my body was not very happy with me!

Saturday we had a restful day of watching the Olympics and then taking Bentley to the groomers.  I love when he’s a fresh, clean puppy.  He’s then allowed to snuggle with me, on a blanket, on the couch 🙂

P1310053

Saturday night we went to Chris and Aron’s for some pizza and relay planning!  Now, I haven’t talked that much about The Relay yet, but I think it’s time!  A while ago I’d heard about this insane, 200 mile relay that starts in wine country and ends in Santa Cruz.  I’ve ALWAYS wanted to do this relay, but I wasn’t sure if I could get enough people (you need a team of 12) together to commit to it.  Well, as it turns out, I have a lot of insane running friends!  “That’s What She Said” is officially registered and ready to take on the 199 mile challenge, for more than 24 hours, from Calistoga to Santa Cruz.  Bring on the smelly vans, tired legs, and awesome challenge!!  I’m SO excited to experience this adventure with a lot of my fun, crazy running friends.  Not to mention, the new faces and runners that I will get to run with!  It’s going to be a tough challenge, but I cannot wait to do it.  What a lifetime experience for all of us.  I can’t wait to share all our stories from now until the relay, May 1-2, 2010.

A little snowboarding anyone?

Earlier in the week we planned to do some snowboarding in Tahoe on Sunday.  Just an easy little day trip that was forecasted to be clear.  Little did we know it would turn out to be the most epic day of boarding EVER!!! 

IMG_0424

Stephen acting silly

IMG_0426      IMG_0427

Start of the day, we met up with Stephen’s brother and friends!  My friend Sima and I

 IMG_0433  IMG_0434 

IMG_0432

On top of the mountain, soooo beautiful!!!

IMG_0436 IMG_0437

Taking a break at the awesome back bar…hehe

IMG_0446

Lake Tahoe behind us

Some video action of my mad snowboarding skills…haha!  It’s a little fuzzy and I start off reaaaallly small at the top!

 

This week I’ve taken it SLOW on the running – aka, I have not run at all.  My legs have been so sore since snowboarding that I’ve had to go home and ice them every night!  I think this means I got a good workout, so I’m going to consider it a running replacement.  Doing an easy 4 miles tonight, picking it back up tomorrow and Friday, then I’m headed to Chico for the Bidwell Classic half marathon relay that I’m doing with my friend Krista.  Look for the race report next week!

8 responses to “Some Running, a Little Relay Planning and a Trip to Tahoe

  1. Love all the pics girlie!! 🙂 great job with the running too!! I want to go snowboarding sometime– it looks so fun!! Can’t wait for October!

  2. Beautiful pics! You make me wanna go skiing!!!

    You are doing so great with all your runs and I’m excited for your half! Can’t wait to hear all about it!

    We need to have another ROHO doggy run!

  3. What fun times! The relay sounds fabulous – tell us more about it and your team.

  4. yay for the whole post!!! running, relays and snowboarding 🙂 looks like you had a blast! cant wait for all our fun adventures coming up.

  5. I’m so jealous you went snowboarding! 🙂 Looks like a lot of fun and I’m jealous of the relay but I shall be in Canada and I can’t wait to hear about your guys fun time and team!

  6. Hey Kristin! I found your blog through Maritza’s and think it is hilarious that our blog names are so similar! 🙂

    I am so excited for the relay and meeting you and everyone I haven’t met yet!

    Looks like you had some beautiful weather for snowboarding! Makes me want to go to the snow!

  7. Thank you for letting me run the relay with you all! I can’t wait!
    And you are a snowboarder! Me, too! Although, I am done for the season because I can’t get injured – too many races!

  8. I’m doing Hood to Coast in August. It’s the big 200 mile relay race here in Portland! Looking forward to reading about your experience (and tips!).

Leave a Reply

