Meet Garrett

I am pleased to introduce everyone to Garrett the Garmin.  He’s been my best friend for the last month or so and we’ve grown really close.  I’ve come to think of him as my running buddy, cheerleader and confidant.  We are quickly becoming besties.

P1010004 

Week in running…

My 15 mile run on Saturday started at 6 a.m. when my alarm went off.  Got up, went to Peet’s for a coffee, then headed out to Walnut Creek to meet up with the girls.  We started running around 7:45 and the weather was beautiful, sunny but not hot.  Tara and I had the same pace goal, 9:00 average, so we started out together.   We decided we’d do two miles warm up, 12 miles goal pace, and 1 mile cool down.  I credit running with her for our fabulous splits!!

Mile 1: 9:18
Mile 2: 9:18
Mile 3: 8:58
Mile 4: 8:57
Mile 5: 9:00

I don’t think there was ever a time during this run that I felt weak or tired, we just kept pounding out the miles and it was really great to have someone along side me that was going for the same goal.  I took a Gu at mile 5.

Mile 6: 9:00
Mile 7: 8:56
Mile 8: 8:48
Mile 9: 8:48
Mile 10: 8:38

At mile 10 I wasn’t tired, but just feeling like I wanted the run to be over.  The sun was getting warmer and the Gu I’d taken early upset my stomach a little, so I was apprehensive to take the second one.  But of course, Tara encouraged me just to take it, so we pulled over, got more water and took our Gu’s.  I think taking the Gu at a standstill really helped my stomach issue (either that or I was just in need of some calories!) because I felt fine for the remaining five miles.

Mile 11: 8:33
Mile 12: 8:41
Mile 13: 8:46
Mile 14: 8:24!!!
Mile 15: 9:55

WOW!  Tara and I were super stoked.  We had a great run and were able to squeeze in that super fast last GP mile.  I’m so happy we ran together and kicked butt together!

Maritza did amazing as well, keeping all her pace miles quicker than she intended.  Overall, great run day for the ROHO’s 🙂

I rushed home from the run to get ready for a Ro Sham Bo tournament fundraiser being held in the city.  Yes, a Rock, Paper, Scissors tournament – not even kidding!!  Great experience and fundraiser by the San Francisco Fire department for the Boys and Girls Club of San Francisco!! Pictures to follow 🙂

 

Easter Sunday was a relaxing day at the Ferry Building and Washington Square Park in San Francisco with my roommate.  Happy belated Easter everyone!!


l[1]
                                                      Washington Square Park

7 responses to “Meet Garrett

  1. Great run you guys! Soooooo speedy!

    Beautiful pic of Washington Square Park. Oh SF…so lovely!

  2. YAY garrett!!! awesome job on the run! you guys totally nailed it!

  3. Great job on your 15 miler!!! It was a gorgeous day to be out and I’m glad I got to share it with you!

    The double-high-five was the highlight for me, I think. 🙂 Keep it up!!!!

  4. WOW girl! You are so speedy! I might need to get myself a Garrett too! He is such a good man-friend (Nice… a S&TC AND Running reference together! haha) Miss you LOTS! Keep up the great work with your runs! xoxo BLOG MORE! I need more Tarr in my life!

  5. Whooohoooooo! Loved running with you and we did a great job! Busting out some speedy miles there at the end! Love Garrett..every girl needs one in there life! lol

  6. Hi Garret, nice spilts, watch you running improve with the added benefit of technology!

  7. I keep telling myself I’m going to get off my butt and run a marathon. Unfortunately, I don’t know how or where to start training. Do you know of any credible books I can read that will teach me how to train for a marathon?

Leave a Reply

